Calcutta HC justice sentences Chief Justice of India

Published : 09 May 2017, 13:06

Jagoroniya Desk

Calcutta High Court judge Justice C S Karnan, who is facing contempt charges, yesterday "sentenced" Chief Justice of India JS Khehar and seven other judges of the Supreme Court to five years rigorous imprisonment.

In an escalation of his confrontation with the Supreme Court, Justice Karnan said the eight judges have "jointly committed the offences punishable under the SC/ST Atrocities Act of 1989 and amended Act of 2015."

Karnan named members of the apex court's seven-judge bench, comprising the Chief Justice of India, Justices Dipak Misra, J Chelameswar, Ranjan Gogoi, Madan B Lokur, Pinaki Chandra Ghose and Kurian Joseph.

Source: timesofindia

  • Latest
  • Most viewed