CPA nations cast vote for chairperson

Published : 07 Nov 2017, 12:21

Jagoroniya Desk

Commonwealth Parliamentary Association’s member countries are casting their votes for the position of its chairperson in an election that is underway at the general assembly of the 63rd CPC.

Candidates Emilia Monjowa Lifaka, deputy speaker of national assembly of Cameron; Shirley M Osborne MLA, speaker of the Montserrat Legislative Assembly; and Niki Rattle, speaker of the Cook Islands Parliament; are vying for the position in the “Election of Chairperson of the Executive Committee”.

The polls started around 11:00am at the Bangabandhu International Convention Center (BICC) and will continue for an hour.

CPA Secretary General Akbar Khan is conducting the elections, the results of which will be announced later in the day. 

Source: thedailystar

  • Latest
  • Most viewed