BNP nominates 5 including Khaleda for Bogra-6 by-polls

Published : 22 May 2019, 13:57

Jagoroniya Desk

BNP has initially nominated its five leaders to run by-elections of Bogra-6 constituency including its jailed chairperson Khaleda Zia.

Golam Mohammad Siraz, convener of Bogra district BNP unit said that party’s acting chairperson Tarique Rahman from London gave directions regarding this matter over Skype on Tuesday afternoon.

He also said that five candidates have been asked to submit their nomination papers on may 23, and one candidate will be finalised before the deadline for withdrawing nomination papers.

Apart from Khaleda Zia, four other primarily nominated candidates are—Golam Mohammad Siraz, convener of Bogra district BNP, Advocate AKM Mahbubur Rahman, Adviser to BNP chairperson and Bogra municipality mayor, Rezaul Karim Badsha, former president of Bogra district BNP and Joynal Abedin, former general secretary of Bogra district BNP.

BNP senior joint secretary general Ruhul Kabir Rizvi and members of the convening committee of Bogra district BNP were present at the party’s Nayapaltan headquarters when Tarique gave directions for Bogra-6 by-polls through Skype.

The by-elections will be held on June 24 and T Zaman Niketa, joint general secretary of Bogra district unit Awami League will run the polls as ruling party candidate.

BNP secretary general Mirza Fakhrul Islam Alamgir won the seat in December 30 general election, but the seat was annulled as he failed to take oath in due time.

Speaker of the parliament declared the Bogra-6 constituency vacant on April 30 this year. Later, election schedule for by-election in this seat announced on May 8.

Source: dailysun

  • Latest
  • Most viewed